mallorydolgin

Being involved in something so wonderful for the past three years has truly been a blessing. A huge part of my life is devoting my time in working with special needs boys and girls. I can say that this act has changed me, and had shown me the importance of acceptance. Promoting my dedication for this also includes diminishing the “R” word (retarded) from daily vocabulary. Even if the word is referenced in a different way, it’s still highly offensive and inapropriate. Feeling bad for someone with special needs is uncalled for. There’s no need to be sympathetic, or express extra kindness. No, reality check: they aren’t babies, so please just treat them equally to how you treat anyone else. You might then say, “but special needs people need more help than others and they can’t do certain things.” Guess what? You’re wrong. Yes they might need just a tad…

View original post 259 more words

