Best Buddies is a non-profit organization that creates friendships for people with developmental and intellectual disabilities. Through my high school career, I’ve realized that kids with disabilities don’t really have the chance to do activities that other kids can do. Like play sports, go swimming, and a lot of other fun things that these kids are incapable of doing on their own.

Lot’s of people say think mentally handicapped people are cute or they say, “He/She needs help. They can’t do this!” Well you’re wrong. Even though they may be a bit different and may need a tad assistance, they are equal to everyone else on this planet. 

There are lots of annual days during the year like the day, “Spread The Word to End The Word” that is held at the beginning of April every year. My job is to eliminate the “R” word (Retarded) from everyone’s vocabulary. This word is very offensive and just because these kids are mentally handicapped, they still work just as hard as everyone else.

During my experiences, I really made differences in many kids’ lives. I remember like it was yesterday when I first met my best buddy, Anthony. I baked him some fresh cookies out of the oven and put them in a box for him. As he walked into his classroom, I handed him the cookies and he suddenly had a gigantic smile on his face and said with excitement, “Wow! Thank you so much! I love you! You are my best friend!.”

Other than hanging out with Anthony, there were also other kids who’s lives I made an impact on. I cheered on my friend Marvin, and he won the special olympics gold medal. I danced with my friend Jordan at the Best Buddies Friendship Ball. I made my friend, Ari chuckle.

After the year ended, I thought to myself that these kids don’t really complain about anything. They can take anything and turn it in to something awesome. All of these memories and experiences changed me into a different person and I will never forget these wonderful kids in the future.

 

Signing off,

Corey

 

“Take the DIS out of disabilty” – Corey Dolgin

