Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last night I decided to go to the Tampa Bay Rays baseball game. They were playing the Baltimore Orioloes. It started at 7:10 P.M. and it was a huge crowd like every other game. Baseball is not the first thing on my list but I went because I really didn’t have anything else to do that night besides going to my high school football game. I like baseball better than football so I went to the Rays game. I went with my father and my nine year old brother who adores the sport.

When I arrived, it was the second inning. The Rays were winning 2-0. I sat in my seat bored with my brother and father and everyone else in the staduim cheering around me. As time flew by, I decided to walk around the stadium because I was just done. I wanted to leave during the fifth inning. The Orioles then scored 2 points and it was 3-4 Orioles. The Rays then tied the game. It was the 9th inning, then 10th, 11th, 12th, 13, 14th and so on. I wanted to leave so bad. I was exhausted and hungry.

Lots of you might think to yourselves, what does this have to do with perseverance? Like I mentioned, baseball is not the first thing on my list. But the thing is, this game taught me to never give up. The Rays had to be exhausted out on the field. I was tired too. But the Rays never gave up. No matter how late it was, they wanted to win their game. I also didn’t give up. I stayed the whole game. It went on for 18 innings and I was there until 3 A.M. This was the longest game in Rays history.

You never know what kind of potential you have. Next time you have to go through a situation, deal with it. Never give up. Because you don’t know what positive things can come out of it. The Rays never gave up because they wanted to win the game for their fans and the fans who stayed for all eight hours showed them loyalty. To be honest, I actually had a great night and this doesn’t usually happen. I’m glad I went because I made the best out of it.

Signing off,

Corey

“Perseverance is failing the 19th time and succeding the 20th.” – Julie Andrews

